Book Review: Shadow of the Fox

A masterful fantasy tale with Japanese folklore, deadly secrets and fast-paced action - Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Julie Kagawa

Genre: Fantasy

Age Range: 13+

Published: By HQ Young Adult on November 1st, 2018

Content Warning: Gory violence, animal abuse and death

Format I Read: Kindle e-book

Grade: Outstanding

Note: I received a free digital ARC of the book via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

Book Review: Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos. Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.

Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure — one part of the ancient scroll.

There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart. With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself.

Continue reading “Book Review: Shadow of the Fox”

5 Essential Things That Will Make Any Book Unputdownable

Check out this list of must-have elements in your sci-fi or fantasy book to make it irresistible to readers | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. How it works is that each Tuesday the host assigns a topic and then posts their top ten list that fits the topic. Every blogger can create their own top ten (or 2, 5, 20, etc.) list as well and link to the host’s. The topic for April 2nd, 2019 is: Top Ten Things That Make Me Immediately Want to Read a Book. I’m going to talk about my favourite tropes/elements in the sci-fi and fantasy genre in this post and also recommend one diverse book that uses a particular trope well.

5 Essential Things That Will Make Any Book Unputdownable | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)
Continue reading “5 Essential Things That Will Make Any Book Unputdownable”

Book Review: Internment

Perfect for fans of Hunger Games and The Hate U Give - Internment by Samira Ahmed | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Samira Ahmed

Genre: Contemporary, dystopia

Age Range: 13+

Published: By Little, Brown Books for Young Readers on March 19th, 2019

Content Warning: Islamophobia, racism, torture, mental trauma and death

Format I Read: Kindle e-book

Grade: Outstanding

Note: I received a free digital ARC of the book via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

Book Review: Internment by Samira Ahmed | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens. With the help of newly made friends also trapped within the internment camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp’s Director and his guards.

Heart-racing and emotional, Internment challenges readers to fight complicit silence that exists in our society today.

Continue reading “Book Review: Internment”

5 Fantasy Books with Immersive Worlds

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. How it works is that each Tuesday the host assigns a topic and then posts their top ten list that fits the topic. Every blogger can create their own top ten (or 2, 5, 20, etc.) list as well and link to the host’s. The topic for February 26th, 2019 is: Places Mentioned In Books That I’d Like to Visit.

5 fantasy books with immersive and lush world-building | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)
Continue reading “5 Fantasy Books with Immersive Worlds”

Book Review: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

With cute boys falling in love, messy friendships and complicated family dynamics, this book is sure to give you all the warm fuzzies - Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Becky Albertalli

Genre: Contemporary

Age Range: 13+

Published: By Balzer + Bray on April 7th, 2015

Content Warning: Homophobia, bullying and underage drinking

Format I Read: Audiobook

Grade: Exceeds expectations

Book Review: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Continue reading “Book Review: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda”

5 Diverse Books That Deserve More Praise

Discover 5 hidden gems of diverse literature that deserve more hype | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. How it works is that each Tuesday the host assigns a topic and then posts their top ten list that fits the topic. Every blogger can create their own top ten (or 2, 5, 20, etc.) list as well and link to the host’s. The topic for February 19th, 2019 is: Books I LOVED with Fewer than 2,000 Ratings on Goodreads.

5 hidden gems of diverse literature that deserve more praise | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)
Continue reading “5 Diverse Books That Deserve More Praise”

50 Book Recommendations for Year of the Asian Reading Challenge 2019

50 Asian books recommended by top Asian book bloggers to make your TBR more diverse | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

As every good Asian blogger is wont to do, I squealed with excitement when the Year of the Asian Reading Challenge was announced by the wonderful hosts – Vicky, Shealea, CW and Lily. I also started Stars and Sorcery, a book club on Twitter, with the express wish to read more sci-fi and fantasy by authors of colour. My co-hosts Shruti, Charvi and Aditi are hatching plans with me to bring back Indian Lit Readathon around the same time this year too. 2019 will definitely turn out to be the Year of the Asian for me because of these three reasons but if you’re also looking forward to doing that, I wanted to give you a little nudge in the right direction by putting together a list of recommendations. I’d mentioned in my post about reading challenges a few weeks back that I’d do recommendations for all the challenges and here is the first one in the series. I have teamed up with 9 amazing Asian book bloggers to help you achieve the highest attainable level in this reading challenge – the Bengali Tiger. Please note that I’ve mentioned the rep wherever possible – I’ve only mentioned the main character’s Asian identity, and in some cases, the author is Asian but hasn’t written about Asian characters, so I have left those intentionally blank.

50 Asian books to make your TBR more diverse (post image graphic)
Continue reading “50 Book Recommendations for Year of the Asian Reading Challenge 2019”