Book Review: Kindred

Painful yet powerful and completely deserving of its classic status - Kindred by Octavia Butler | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Octavia Butler

Genre: Sci-fi and historical fiction

Age Range: 18+

Published: By Beacon Press on July 20th, 1997

Content Warning: Slavery, sexual assault, violence, torture and suicide

Format I Read: Audiobook

Grade: Outstanding

Book Review: Kindred by Octavia Butler | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

Having just celebrated her 26th birthday in 1976 California, Dana, an African-American woman, is suddenly and inexplicably wrenched through time into antebellum Maryland. After saving a drowning white boy there, she finds herself staring into the barrel of a shotgun and is transported back to the present just in time to save her life. During numerous such time-defying episodes with the same young man, she realizes the challenge she’s been given: to protect this young slaveholder until he can father her own great-grandmother.

Continue reading “Book Review: Kindred”

Book Review: Descendant of the Crane

Murder, courtroom intrigue and backstabbing politics in a diverse fantasy package - Descendant of the Crane by Joan He | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Joan He

Genre: Fantasy

Age Range: 13+

Published: By AW Teen on April 9th, 2019

Content Warning: Death, gory violence, slavery, suicide, torture

Format I Read: E-book

Grade: Outstanding

Note: I received a free digital ARC of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review

Book Review: Descendant of the Crane by Joan He | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she engages the aid of a soothsayer—a treasonous act, punishable by death… because in Yan, magic was outlawed centuries ago.

Using the information illicitly provided by the sooth, and uncertain if she can trust even her family, Hesina turns to Akira—a brilliant and alluring investigator who’s also a convicted criminal with secrets of his own. With the future of her kingdom at stake, can Hesina find justice for her father? Or will the cost be too high?

Continue reading “Book Review: Descendant of the Crane”

Book Review: Shadow of the Fox

A masterful fantasy tale with Japanese folklore, deadly secrets and fast-paced action - Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Julie Kagawa

Genre: Fantasy

Age Range: 13+

Published: By HQ Young Adult on November 1st, 2018

Content Warning: Gory violence, animal abuse and death

Format I Read: Kindle e-book

Grade: Outstanding

Note: I received a free digital ARC of the book via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

Book Review: Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos. Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.

Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure — one part of the ancient scroll.

There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart. With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself.

Continue reading “Book Review: Shadow of the Fox”

Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

A classic Swedish crime novel with a chilling yet gripping mystery at its heart - The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Stieg Larsson

Genre: Mystery

Age Range: 18+

Published: By Knopf on September 16th, 2008

Content Warning: Violence, sexual assault and death

Format I Read: Audiobook

Grade: Exceeds expectations

Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared from a family gathering on the island owned and inhabited by the powerful Vanger clan. Her body was never found, yet her uncle is convinced it was murder – and that the killer is a member of his own tightly knit but dysfunctional family. He employs disgraced financial journalist Mikael Blomkvist and the tattooed, truculent computer hacker Lisbeth Salander to investigate. When the pair link Harriet’s disappearance to a number of grotesque murders from 40 years ago, they begin to unravel a dark and appalling family history. But the Vangers are a secretive clan, and Blomkvist and Salander are about to find out just how far they are prepared to go to protect themselves.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”

Book Review: Internment

Perfect for fans of Hunger Games and The Hate U Give - Internment by Samira Ahmed | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Samira Ahmed

Genre: Contemporary, dystopia

Age Range: 13+

Published: By Little, Brown Books for Young Readers on March 19th, 2019

Content Warning: Islamophobia, racism, torture, mental trauma and death

Format I Read: Kindle e-book

Grade: Outstanding

Note: I received a free digital ARC of the book via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

Book Review: Internment by Samira Ahmed | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens. With the help of newly made friends also trapped within the internment camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp’s Director and his guards.

Heart-racing and emotional, Internment challenges readers to fight complicit silence that exists in our society today.

Continue reading “Book Review: Internment”

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves

Lovable cast of characters, high-stakes plot and lush world-building - The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Genre: Fantasy

Age Range: 13+

Published: By Wednesday Books on January 15th, 2019

Content Warning: Child abuse, anti-Semetism, racism, violence and death

Format I Read: Hardcover

Grade: Outstanding

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

It’s 1889. The city is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition Universelle has breathed new life into the streets and dredged up ancient secrets. Here, no one keeps tabs on dark truths better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. When the elite, ever-powerful Order of Babel coerces him to help them on a mission, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance.

To hunt down the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin calls upon a band of unlikely experts: An engineer with a debt to pay. A historian banished from his home. A dancer with a sinister past. And a brother in arms if not blood. Together, they will join Séverin as he explores the dark, glittering heart of Paris. What they find might change the course of history — but only if they can stay alive.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Gilded Wolves”

Book Review: The Belles

A world where beauty is magic and the villains hide under behind masks - The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton | Review by Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Author: Dhonielle Clayton

Genre: Fantasy

Age Range: 13+

Published: By Disney-Hyperion on February 6th, 2018

Content Warning: Fat shaming, bury your gays trope, girl-on-girl hate

Format I Read: Audiobook

Grade: Exceeds expectations

Book Review: The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

Book Synopsis (section header)

In the opulent world of Orléans, the people are born grey and damned, and only a Belle’s powers can make them beautiful.

Camellia Beauregard wants to be the favourite Belle – the one chosen by the queen to tend to the royal family.

But once Camellia and her Belle sisters arrive at court, it becomes clear that being the favourite is not everything she always dreamed it would be. Behind the gilded palace walls live dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that her powers may be far greater – and far darker – than she ever imagined.

When the queen asks Camellia to break the rules she lives by to save the ailing princess, she faces an impossible decision: protect herself and the way of the Belles, or risk her own life and change the world forever.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Belles”